what a difference a year makes

What a difference a year makes! Well, not quite a year, but almost.  On April 6, 2011 (right before my 44th birthday) I played at an open mic night at Tommy Doyle’s in Hyannis.  It was my first public performance in over twenty years and I was terrified but excited at the same time.  It didn’t take long for that old feeling of exhilaration to return, and I haven’t stopped writing and singing and playing since.

Much has happened in the last year–more, in fact, than I would have anticipated. Everything seemed to snowball once I started making music again, and I’ve been living in a constant state of overwhelmed gratitude ever since.  I’ve been playing open mics several times a month, getting booked for “real” gigs, and I’ve even been invited to participate in a women’s music festival.  Slowly but surely my name is getting out there and so far I guess people like what they hear. I’ve also begun working on my first album.  At this point, however, I’m not sure about the album, or when I’ll actually get to it.  Part of me would rather skip it and just keep writing and performing for the sheer joy it brings me,    while another part knows it’s a necessary part of presenting my music to the public.  It’s just a major hassle given my lack of time and money…and time. Did I mention I have no time? It’s hard to believe I even have enough material for an album, but I do…in the past year I’ve written approximately 16 songs. Those are the ones that didn’t end up in the trash.  Some are better than others, but they’re all very personal and have a special place in my heart.

I made another trip to Newfoundland and met several musicians there who are now friends. I connected with even more family members and fell even more in love with the place, if that’s possible. I found inspiration there, and a strong connection.

I’ve been happier during this past year than I have been in decades. I rediscovered a large part of what was missing in my life, and it feels great to have it back.  I’ve made some wonderful friends in the local music community, and I’m starting to feel like I belong.  Life is hard, and having something that makes me this happy makes all the difference in the world.

I’m curious about what the next year will bring.

About capecodwoman

I'm a mom, musician, public servant, and insomniac.
This entry was posted in Life, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what a difference a year makes

  1. Heather Borges says:

    Awesome Catherine!Reach for the stars and continue to enjoy it!best wishes on your success and talent

  2. Susanne says:

    Nice blog 🙂 Congratulations on finding the key to your own happiness! For many of us, that’s a tough one. I look forward to hearing you sing!

Leave a Reply

