another year wiser…

Today as I become yet another year wiser, I think about all that the last year has brought to my life. The more I think about it, I begin to realize how much happens in one year. It’s truly amazing.

A year ago:

I had never been to Newfoundland, I didn’t know many of my Newfoundland cousins, I had not listened to my cousin Alan’s wonderful band, Great Big Sea.  I knew much less about my family and my heritage, and I did not have the appreciation for folk music (including accordion and fiddle), and I did not know what the heck an Irish Bouzouki was.  I didn’t listen to Irish music, and I had never tasted Screech or cod tongues.

I had not touched my guitar in about 10 years, and had not performed live in almost 20.  I was not writing songs. I did not yet have Gracie, my beautiful pup, in my life. I had not yet started commuting to Boston every day. I was still in grad school, writing papers and doing research, while working full-time. I was not yet blogging, or using my Twitter account.

While I loved my husband and children, my appreciation and loyalty have done nothing but grow over the past year.  I love them all even more now than I did a year ago, which is amazing to me. I love my husband for putting up with my moods and my job, and for encouraging my ambitions, both professional and musical.

I reconnected with some girlfriends from high school, and made a new friend too. These women have meant the world to me this year (lunch bunch you know who you are) and I’m so thankful to have them in my life.

The biggest changes this year have been that I earned my Masters degree, I went to Newfoundland and learned more about myself than I ever expected to, I uncovered a deep pride and respect for my Newfoundland heritage, and I fell in love with the place.  Because of that, I found my way back to my music, and all the joy and passion that comes with it. I’ve started writing and performing music again, which is HUGE.  Now when I’m on the bus for my 2 hour morning commute, instead of doing homework or studying, I write lyrics, or sleep.  I’ve learned to let go of regret, resentment, and worry. I have learned what is really important to me.

Some things, of course, have not changed over the last year. I still miss my father every day, maybe more so now that I’ve reclaimed my music.  I still have a temper, but I think I’ve learned to control it better.  I still avoid some things I would rather not deal with, and wait until the last minute to face them. Some things will never change.

Change is good. It forces growth and opens windows of possibility. I’m looking forward to the next year, and the years after that. I’m excited about the future and all the possibilities out there.

One last thing. A big THANK YOU to all of my friends and family, coworkers and acquaintances who have made the last year challenging, fun, exciting, and thought-provoking. Thanks for putting up with me, for inspiring me, and for being there when I needed you.  And a special thanks to my Twitter friends, some of whom I’ve never even met…for making me smile and laugh every day, even on days when it’s difficult. I appreciate you all.

Bring on the next year!

About capecodwoman

I'm a mom, musician, public servant, and insomniac.
This entry was posted in Life, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to another year wiser…

  1. Krista Eddy says:

    Brilliant post, as usual. It’s amazing the difference a year can make!

Leave a Reply

