A Better Life

A Better Life   (for my Grandfather)

Each morning was the same, he’d get up and feel the pain

Like ropes tied tightly around him.

Felt like he couldn’t breathe unless he got the strength to leave

Would they ever forgive him?

The Harbour was his home, it was all he’d ever known but

He knew there was so much more.

He hoped they’d understand his leaving Newfoundland,

his family, his home on the shore.

There’s nothing here for me in this village by the sea

I know I can find a better life.

I could stay here ‘till I die or be brave enough to try

And sail to Boston, and find a better life.

Life was hard before, in his old home by the shore, but

In Newfoundland his heart did remain.

He’d traded it away for a new life, far away. Now he’s lost in a sea of people with no names.

There’s nothing here for me in this village by the sea

I know I can find a better life.

I could stay here ‘till I die or be brave enough to try

And sail to Boston, and find a better life.

One day he returned to his home in Newfoundland

To lie forever peaceful in the ground.

What courage he displayed that day he sailed away, but his

Heart stayed in his little harbor town.

There’s nothing here for me , and a great big world to see. I know I can find a better life.

I could stay here ‘till I die or be brave enough to try

And sail to Boston, and find a better life.

There’s nothing here for me in this village by the sea

I know I can find a better life.

I could stay here ‘till I die or be brave enough to try

And sail to Boston, and find a better life.

About capecodwoman

I'm a mom, musician, public servant, and insomniac.
This entry was posted in Life, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

